Sanda
09-23-2002, 03:31 PM
Can anyone make sense of this web page my son sent me? It's some kind of exotic Michael Jackson??
http://people.freenet.de/freeek/SajjadAli.swf
http://people.freenet.de/freeek/SajjadAli.swf
| View Full Version : what's this all about? Sanda 09-23-2002, 03:31 PM Can anyone make sense of this web page my son sent me? It's some kind of exotic Michael Jackson?? http://people.freenet.de/freeek/SajjadAli.swf gland 09-23-2002, 03:55 PM Interesting. :) Leah 09-23-2002, 04:07 PM He's a Pakistani pop star who started out as a classical singer. I think he has a reasonable following among those who follow the genre. Ed_L 09-23-2002, 05:25 PM I get a blank page when I click on the link. For some reason, I have the feeling I'm not missing too much! :D Ed winwintoo 09-23-2002, 05:37 PM Did you all watch it right to the end?? Somehow I don't think this is a real pop star. It woke me up that's for sure :devil: :devil: Margaret dcarr 09-23-2002, 09:42 PM Good one Sanda. But I think Michael Jackson is just a bit more frightening. Debbie DJ Dubovsky 09-24-2002, 08:37 PM Not nice Sanda. Not nice at all. :D Damn near died of a heart attack on that one. :lol: DJ Ed_L 09-24-2002, 08:40 PM And people thought I was the evil one for posting the ghost thread. :D Good one Sandra. Ed Sanda 09-24-2002, 09:15 PM I blame you Ed, you started it. :D :D :D :D DJ Dubovsky 09-24-2002, 10:15 PM Next time someone says to play it to the end and turn up your speakers, I will know what to expect. Probably not :D DJ Leah 09-25-2002, 12:19 PM If Sajjad Ali isn't a real singer then he's got an awful lot of people (a) fooled: http://www.bbc.co.uk/england/asiannetwork/exposure_sajjad_ali.shtml (b) releasing his records (you can hear a genuine snippet from Teri Yaad here): http://www.osa.co.uk/cgi/artistpage.cgi?artistID=93 (c) reviewing his music and videos: http://www.pakistanipopmusic.co.uk/ (d) booking him to appear at significant UK Asian cultural events (e.g. the Manchester Mela): http://www.bbc.co.uk/england/asiannetwork/mela.shtml Of course, being a real singer doesn't mean that the site that sparked all this off has anything to do with him... :) CJ Swartz 09-25-2002, 02:51 PM Leah, have you watched the website long enough to see the "surprise"? The background music is nice -- guess it's really this musician's, Sajjad Ali, work, but I don't think the "surprise" has anything to do with him... :D Leah 09-26-2002, 12:24 AM Yes, that's what I meant when I said "being a real singer doesn't mean that the site that sparked all this off has anything to do with him... :) " I was just (very mildly) concerned that people seemed to be deciding on the basis of this one site that the bloke himself is a fake, whereas I have a lot of friends/colleagues from the British Pakistani community and know that he's genuine. Almost like stumbling upon one of the Britney Spears parody sites and deciding that Britney is just a spoof and not a real pop star (although come to think of it, that would explain a lot...). So wanted to make real situation explicit for all those researchers from a hundred years hence who will be using RetouchPro's archives as a valuable historical source ;) . chiquitita 09-26-2002, 08:55 AM Britney is a spoof. |