winwintoo
08-24-2003, 09:37 AM
Is this too good to be true. I got this "offer" in email. I can't take advantage of it because it's only the PC version, but some of you might be interested.
Take care, Margaret
Take care, Margaret
| View Full Version : PhotoShop 7 for 50 bucks?? winwintoo 08-24-2003, 09:37 AM Is this too good to be true. I got this "offer" in email. I can't take advantage of it because it's only the PC version, but some of you might be interested. Take care, Margaret stevic 08-24-2003, 11:05 AM Hi, I wonder if this is legal software and not something that has been pirated. Craig Carlson Sebastopol,Ca winwintoo 08-24-2003, 11:14 AM I was wondering if it was a cheap way to grab credit card numbers and info for mailing lists for spam etc. Margaret stevic 08-24-2003, 12:39 PM I did a search on Google web sites and news groups, the speculation is that they are out of Russia and the software is pirated. Sure would like to know for sure. Craig winwintoo 08-24-2003, 12:48 PM Yikes!! I just had a vision of entering all the information and submitting the form only to discover that I had been transported to a porn site complete with monthly CC billing for "services rendered" :cool: :cool: :cool: :cool: Sorry I brought this up, Margaret DannyRaphael 08-24-2003, 01:06 PM It's good that you brought this up, Margaret, because most people run into these types of 'opportunities' all the time. Photoshop 7 for $50? Smells fishy to me. It should to anyone. Besides, with Photoshop 8 around the corner, I'd hold out for the PS8 upgrade which will probably retail for about $139. With PS7, Amazon.com (and possibly other sites) offered a $50 rebate dropping retail to $89 + S/H. I wouldn't be surprised if there were similar deals for PS8 when it comes out (rumored to be) by the end of the year. KenB 08-24-2003, 01:15 PM If their address is indicitave of their IP address then they are located in Latin America or somewhere in the Caribbean. Good point Danny made about waiting for PS8. Even if it is a little more money, you're better off dealing with a known merchant, like Amazon. Ken KenB 08-24-2003, 01:19 PM Upon further search I found out they are.... Tiger Computer & Tec Ltda from Brazil. Ken sanaka 08-25-2003, 03:57 PM I found Doug Nelson's thread, here (http://www.retouchpro.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=6770) , tried the Adobe Elements > PS7 upgrade offer, here (http://www.adobe.com/store/products/special.jhtml?id=catMicrotek&sourcecode=112300) , and 10 minutes ago received my new copy of PS7 direct from Adobe for $313, including shippping :D I bought Elements at Costco, so you don't have to be a Microtek customer. Peace, Sanaka Doug Nelson 08-25-2003, 06:34 PM I removed the URL because it is almost certainly a pirate operation. I also sent the address into piracy@adobe.com which is their official email address for forwarding these things. winwintoo 08-25-2003, 07:32 PM Thanks Doug. I was remiss in not getting rid of the URL (or for posting it in the first place) Take care, Margaret stevic 08-25-2003, 10:14 PM Margret, Actually, I glad that you posted the url, it brings to the surface what some people will do to rip a ligit person/business off and the discussion of this thread on this site may have saved someone here some grief. Craig TwinbNJ 08-26-2003, 07:34 PM Don't beat yourself up Margaret --- You started the thread with the question --- "too good to be true" Spam 99.9% of the time should be questioned and is not legit. Good thread and as always "if the deal seems too good to be true" --- chances are it's a bad deal. |