RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Computer Generated Images
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Computer Generated Images Combining 3D models with photos, or crafting fully synthetic images using CGI or fractals

3D RETOUCHING -- Maya, Cinema 4D, Modo. Lightwave

Old 09-23-2006, 04:30 PM

3D RETOUCHING -- Maya, Cinema 4D, Modo. Lightwave

Hi,

Does anyone use 3D programs to help them with creative or production retouching? I have been doing this for quite a few years and wondered if anyone else has made the attempt to learn and integrate 3D into their retouching workflow.

3D programs are becoming better at rendering high quality images in a reasonable amount of time. Of course it is hard to get the beautiful gradations of photographs without major post work.

It would be nice to see members post their 3D retouching. Composites, typography, painterly or pure 3D would be cool to see. I see a new creative paradigm shift that is happening in the retouching industry.

You can see my work in the gallery, to get an idea of what I am on about. The Saturn and HP ad are examples.

Thanks,

Steve

Last edited by stevebarrett; 09-20-2007 at 12:30 PM. Reason: Left the company
Reply With Quote top
Old 09-23-2006, 07:08 PM

I am a big fan of 3D design. But for now it's way outta my league.
I tried 3Dsmax a while ago, but I decided to stick by 2D for now. Also rendering took al my enthusiasm away. That took an eternity on my machine.
But in the future I definitely want to learn 3D design, and I think it would also be helpful for retouching, especially for image manipulation.
Reply With Quote top
Old 09-24-2006, 02:13 AM

Re: 3D RETOUCHING -- Maya, Cinema 4D, Modo. Lightwave