RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Critiques
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Critiques The place to get serious, in-depth analysis and opinions of your work

Your opinions please

Old 05-29-2005, 12:23 AM

Your opinions please

I've been teaching myself PS for 3 years now. I would really like this image to work. I have attached the two originals and the final composite.

I am pleased with the ripple effect in the foreground (showing a rippled reflection of my son, using Redfield's freeware ripple plug-in). However, I believe the water lacks detail, as it has an almost-pure reflection. I tried to brush in some surface mist in the distance.

I am not happy with the trailing ripples. If my son could actually walk across Okanagan Lake, what would the background ripples look like? Over time a ripple becomes wider, but should also appear smaller, as they trail into the distance. Any suggestions here? Any tips on how I could make more realistic ripples?

And how about a shadow? I tried to make a shadow appear on a water surface, but it looked all wrong.

Please feel free to modify.

Ken
Attached Images
File Type: jpg on-water.jpg (99.0 KB, 89 views)
File Type: jpg walking.jpg (98.1 KB, 36 views)
File Type: jpg penticton.jpg (95.5 KB, 36 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 05-29-2005, 12:29 AM
Janitor

If your son can walk on water, then you must be... (sorry, couldn't resist)
Reply With Quote top
Old 05-29-2005, 12:30 AM

Hi Ken!

Love the area around Kelowna/Penticton. Hope you get a little more rain this season.
Your right. The little guy needs a shadow, possibly done with a displacement map. Unfortunately, beyond my limited capabilities.
Good Luck!

Dave
Reply With Quote top
Old 05-29-2005, 03:07 AM