RetouchPRO

RetouchPRO (http://www.retouchpro.com/forums/)
-   Critiques (http://www.retouchpro.com/forums/critiques/)
-   -   Really Bad Photo (http://www.retouchpro.com/forums/critiques/11890-really-bad-photo.html)

Cassidy 10-23-2005 08:24 AM

Really Bad Photo

1 Attachment(s)
As background, my eldest with near flawless olive skin conscripted her brother to take photos to fill out her portfolio. With shocking lighting, really high compression and very little skill whatsoever, he managed to photograph her looking blotchy, overblown, overweight, you name it. I had heard that a camera adds 10 pounds and in this case I am pretty sure it did.

Anyway, getting to the point, I thought some of these photos could be worth playing with, so having the time this evening, I started playing and exploring channel changing and the picture I have ended up with looks far more like my eldest. Anyway, I thought I'd try and satin her skin a bit and was quite pleased with the results.

So any comments are welcome as to how this might be improved upon or otherwise :)

NancyJ 10-23-2005 11:08 AM

Looks to me like the version you were working on had too much compression - the skin is smooth (and the background too but the rest of the picture is grainy. The skin work is very nice (as much as its possible to tell on such a small image) but doesnt match the rest of the picture and so looks very obviously retouched.
If you're airbrushing or similar, try to add some noise to match the natural grain of the image.
One other comment I would make is that your daughter appears to have a very fresh natural beauty, but in your retouch she looks to be wearing heavy makeup. In this case I would definately say less is more, especially if this is a modelling portfolio, having naturally beautiful skin is a big plus for a model, this is one of her best assesets, it should be emphasised.