Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Critiques
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Critiques The place to get serious, in-depth analysis and opinions of your work

Critique of an autoportrait

Old 10-26-2005, 03:21 PM
Critique of a autoportrait

Hi all of you,

I've been a member of this site as of August this year, but I've been sort of lying low since then. Mainly because I haven't had time (long story).

If I were to briefly introduce myself, I would say that I've been doing photography and retouching for the past five years. I've never had a major job so far, or anything like that. Recently I've been starting to look for a potographer to work with, as my equipment - a Sony Cybershot (4.1 MP) - doesn't quite match the caliber I beseech. The quality of the photos taken is usually of a poor worth. This can sometimes be a blessing, as it allows me to more easily temper with the image. However, most of the time it's just annoying. Anyhow, enough about me and over to the main issue.

The purpose of this post is for you to evaluate an autoportait I shot while me and a group of friends visited the town of Leawenworth this last Saturday. I was sort of goofing off, experimenting with taking pictures in different light settings. The one linked to here, was shot in backlighting. Being bored the other day, I decided to improve and create something out of it. As they are larger files, I uploaded them onto my webspace. I hope that's ok.

The shot before retouching...

...and then after:

I would just like to hear someone else's point of view, beside my friends', for a change. Not that their's isn't valid, but getting input from people actively engaged in this type of business is more...interesting. Thanks in advance,

Last edited by Arandel; 10-26-2005 at 05:15 PM.
Reply With Quote top
Old 10-26-2005, 05:04 PM