Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Critiques
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Critiques The place to get serious, in-depth analysis and opinions of your work

Newbie here requesting to start with my website

Old 11-22-2005, 12:03 PM
Talking Newbie here requesting to start with my website

Hello all! Glad to join a fine group! If you don't mind I would like to start by having those who want to critique my website. Good or bad bring them on! I've been using Photoshop since 2.0 and Illustrator since 4.0. I'm contiplating on starting my own web design and graphics (did this some while going to school) but am seriously thinking of going at it head strong. Just take a looksee and give me feedback...thanks!

PS: I'm sooooo excited to join this group
Reply With Quote top
Old 11-22-2005, 01:01 PM
Welcome to retouch Digraphicx
Have been and looked at your site i liked the work that you have done especially the iris's and other fine art's although i was disapointed that when clicking the links i couldn't get a bigger picture they stayed quite small ! Also i (and this is me personaly ) didn't like the vertical links to your galleries found them a bit hard to navigate but this might be down to age But i did enjoy looking around hope you enjoy looking around this site also.

Reply With Quote top
Old 11-22-2005, 07:54 PM

Welcome! You will love this place and learn a lot!

I like the simplicity of your content pages and the layout on the main pages is fine. I would have to second that I do not like the navigation system. It's very difficult to read and as a browser I don't want to have to 'think' to find out where I want to go on your site. I know what you have there 'looks' cooler and more design oriented, but the general surfer may get frustrated. I'd opt for a horizontal system if at all possible.

For your "Department of Econ" link, I'd change the target to _blank so that it opens in a new window instead of navigating away from your site.