RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Critiques
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Critiques The place to get serious, in-depth analysis and opinions of your work

Repair/Colorize

Old 01-15-2006, 05:08 PM

Repair/Colorize

Greetings,

I'm new to RetouchPRO and would like a critique of the attached. The source was a scan (rather small) of my grandfather taken around 1915. I'm basically pleased with my result other than the blownout highlights on his face. BTW, I use Ulead PhotoImpact 8 as my primary editor. TIA for your feedback.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg DeanK.jpg (44.7 KB, 68 views)
File Type: jpg DeanK.jpg (24.4 KB, 87 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 01-16-2006, 01:19 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by LonK
Greetings,

I'm new to RetouchPRO and would like a critique of the attached. The source was a scan (rather small) of my grandfather taken around 1915. I'm basically pleased with my result other than the blownout highlights on his face. BTW, I use Ulead PhotoImpact 8 as my primary editor. TIA for your feedback.
Hey Lonnie!

It's a grand job of it, as usual for you! Can you make a selection of the blown out bits at the forehead and adjust the tones or fill with a sample of the cheek colour setting the opacity in accordance?

Maureen
Reply With Quote top
Old 01-16-2006, 07:01 PM

Hi and welcome.
It looks as though you've done some detailed coloring here. Paying attention to every detail is really important when coloring. So, you're off to a good start. However, my honest critique is that the image is overworked.