Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Critiques
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Critiques The place to get serious, in-depth analysis and opinions of your work

First retouch - please crit

Old 01-27-2006, 10:45 AM
First retouch - please crit

Well, I retouched my first image... I used a few tricks from Nancy's tutorial at, and played around with some other tools (Healing brush especially, burn,dodge).
I know I'm an amateur and this is mostly awful, and that's the very reason for posting here. Please crit, advise, help... I'd like to improve, and what's better way to know where I'm wrong than this?

PS: the right one is obviously the original
Attached Images
File Type: jpg first_retouch2.jpg (95.3 KB, 242 views)
File Type: jpg original.jpg (43.8 KB, 205 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 01-27-2006, 02:01 PM
Location: Boyds, MD - about 30 miles outside of Washington, DC
Smile re: first retouch

Is it really your first retouch? you'll go far! I like the new skin tones very much, and pretty much all of it except for the mouth. I like the slightly devilish and very expressive mouth in the original, but for me, the "perfect lip shape" in the retouch is a bit too generic and takes away a lot of her charm and personality.

Reply With Quote top
Old 01-27-2006, 02:13 PM
You are certainly doing very well. I think however that it mostly is pitty to glamour away the charm of beautiful girls to such degree that they all look alike. The girl to the left I have seen before - the other real one to the right unfortunately I don't know. I would like one day tp see someone go from your picture to the left to that on the right.
This being said, I think first of all that it is a pitty that you have almost hidden her right eye in the original shot. It would have more effect if she had looked out between the hairs hanging down.