RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Critiques
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Critiques The place to get serious, in-depth analysis and opinions of your work

First time retouch post.. Be brutal!! =]

Old 05-18-2006, 12:17 AM

First time retouch post.. Be brutal!! =]

This is my first post of a retouch job, but a friend needed this picture cleaned up.

I started with levels in PS, then started in with the oily face and over bright reflection. Used the patch tool, love that thing... and was also not sure what else other than the clone tool, which I did use a little in spots, to use.

I was using it in a comp card, with another pic and his head was cocked the same way, so I flipped it as well.

I then masked that area, and did a slight gausian blur then went back and added just a bit of noise to that same mask. I also felt bad about his honker, and used the pucker tool on it to bring it in some. This is my first time ever retouching a regular photo, so I am looking for honest, break my heart kinda critiques. I am not ashamed to cry behind the keyboard, and figure I will learn better by getting a no sugar coated critique. So have at it dogs!!

What more would you have done, or rather where would you have started and what steps would you take? you do not have to do them, just curious for future reference.

Thanks in advance.

Dane
Attached Images
File Type: jpg orig.1.jpg (70.8 KB, 115 views)
File Type: jpg work.jpg (99.4 KB, 116 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 05-18-2006, 08:24 AM

I'll chime in!

It generally looks pretty good. I like the less oily look to his face, I think you did a nice job with that. The nose job is well done, too, but just make sure that your friend wants that or knows that you were going to do that, not everybody dislikes their large noses.