RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Critiques
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Critiques The place to get serious, in-depth analysis and opinions of your work

Help needed with skin color

Old 05-23-2006, 04:37 PM

Help needed with skin color

Recently a colleague asked me to do some retouch work on a picture of himself. (hope he doesn't mind me showing him here :-) )
I used the Liquify tool to correct the shin, and Clone stamp to replace the skin afterwards.
Only took me about 10 to 15 minutes, dead easy. And I'm a mere newbie.
But one thing I don't seem to get right is the color of the skin. Can someone help me on this one?

It also seems the colors are less saturated (reddish) on web than in CS2. Can anyone explain why?

Tips/crits will be highly appreciated.

(my apologies for the small resolution files, limited to 100kb, I can forward originals if you want)
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 0007090-res.jpg (83.2 KB, 78 views)
File Type: jpg 0007090 copy-res.jpg (87.8 KB, 84 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 05-23-2006, 05:50 PM

Skin

Hi. I did a tweak on your reddish face and checked the red and yellow curve. Usually you want the yellow to be 2-7% higher than the magenta (red) to prevent that sunburned look. I also took some of the red out with saturation control. Hope it looks ok on your monitor. Here is my example. Thanks steveb
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 0007090 copy-resmd2.jpg (88.4 KB, 49 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 05-23-2006, 06:09 PM

Quote:
It also seems the colors are less saturated (reddish) on web than in CS2. Can anyone explain why?
You need to set your colour profile to Adobe sRGB to better match what you see in PS and on the web.

One quick way with this pic to correct the skin tones. Duplicate the background as another layer, set the blending mode to Screen, the set the opacity of that layer to approx 50% this gives a not too bad result.
Sorry have not attached a sample.