Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Critiques
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Critiques The place to get serious, in-depth analysis and opinions of your work

New to retouching photos

Old 08-01-2006, 06:18 PM
New to retouching photos

I'm 18 and I want to become a digital airbrusher for photoshoots and stuff like that.

Please take a look and some of the restorations I've done so far.

I'm still an amateur so any constructive criticism would be appreciated.

I recently bought a book Katrin Eismann so hopefully that will help me improve my skills.

Reply With Quote top
Old 08-01-2006, 07:57 PM
Hi there, Derek, welcome to RetouchPRO.

I'll accept you invitation to critique.....

1) A very good idea, well executed - this is definitely the best of the bunch. I'm pretty sure that the shadows are all wrong - but this doesn't hurt at all. One slight nitpick would be the little orange spot that is exactly on the edge of the front leg - found that a bit distracting, but overall... Very good work!

2) Great work on all the non and less important parts, background, hair, clothes shoulders. Trouble is, in portrait images the eyes are all-important. If the eyes don't work, then you're in trouble. The eyes are a bit strange in the original - they just got stranger. After the eyes comes the mouth, whitening the teeth is usually correct but here they seem to be glowing!

3) OK, now you got the eyes and the mouth but lost all the rest. The hair looks totally un-natural. Now the nose.... I can only think that you made an honest mistake and haven't really looked at your retouch. I've never seen (and don't want too) anyone where the end of the nose os closer to the eyes than to the mouth.