Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Critiques
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Critiques The place to get serious, in-depth analysis and opinions of your work

The Elven King's Gate

Old 09-18-2006, 07:00 PM
The Elven King's Gate

Hi this is my first post.

I really enjoyed this forum so far. Great tutorals and art going on!

I'm not sure where else to put this... I need advice.

I started this about 3 weeks ago, the foreground is complete. I won't show all the versions of this picture but I would like to show it as it progressed so it will help to point out when I made any mistakes in the process.

I'm a bit of newb this was made with Photoshop 7 for Windows the animated version was made with Sqirlz.

First of all what you are going to see is my attempt at photo realistic creation of a picture drawn by J.R.R Tolkien entitled 'The Elven Kings Gate'. It is created entirely from stock photos.
With rays of Light
Check out the caption on the bottom I tried to make it look it's made by the rays of light.
Foreground complete
This version has an animated river.
Flowing River

Like I said the I'm of the mind set that the foreground is done and I'm starting on the background but before I go ahead is there any major problems with lighting or whatever that I should content with before I move on to the background?

Thanks for taking the time.

Last edited by The Dude; 09-28-2006 at 05:36 PM. Reason: udate flash animation url
Reply With Quote top
Old 09-19-2006, 09:56 AM
Welcome to RetouchPRO, Dude:

Although for whatever reason my Internet Explorer wouldn't complete the download of the last animated version, the work on the other images is very impressive -- especially the light rays.

This type of artwork isn't really my thing, so this observation is based on gut reaction, not technical expertise. Something that looked a bit out of place for this theme was the bright green leaves against the very blue sky.