Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Critiques
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Critiques The place to get serious, in-depth analysis and opinions of your work

Beginner Wedding Photo Restoration

Old 11-02-2006, 06:59 PM
Beginner Wedding Photo Restoration

I'm a beginner Photoshop CS2 user. My mother asked me to copy some 1947 wedding snapshots for a family friend. I decided to try some restoration, too.

My approach, based on some examples I found on the Internet, was to scan at 600 dpi in color, straighten, crop, adjust levels, adjust highlights & shadows, use dust & scratches filter to create a dust & scratches mask layer, use cloning tool to fix major problems, unsharp mask, convert to grayscale, and print.

Please tell me how you would have approached it, how much time it would take, whether I'm on the right track, and what can be accomplished with more experience.

Attached Images
File Type: jpg Before.jpg (90.5 KB, 43 views)
File Type: jpg After.jpg (79.5 KB, 51 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 11-02-2006, 08:56 PM
Re: Beginner Wedding Photo Restoration

I am not an expert at this. What I did notice was the bride's dress was washed out. I duplicated the layers and then I made a rough selection of the lightened area of the bride's dress and then made an adjustment and blended the layers together. I tried to smooth the skin texture by using the degrunge tutorial on this site. I, like you, will be interested to see the other approaches taken to resolve the problem. There is usually more than just one correct way to solve a problem.

Attached Images
File Type: jpg br_n_gr_web.jpg (89.8 KB, 31 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 11-02-2006, 09:21 PM
Re: Beginner Wedding Photo Restoration

Hi BLR.......

It sounds like you've gotten and taken some good starting advice on retouching/restoration.........