Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Critiques
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Critiques The place to get serious, in-depth analysis and opinions of your work

need honest opinion

Old 04-29-2007, 06:57 PM
need honest opinion

good day to all,

Im a new member of this community and would like to ask professional opinion on my first serious work retouching an image. I am no professional retoucher and just do it for pleasure.

I have an image which i think was a good enough material for practice.Listed below are the summary of the procedure I did to derive at the final image.

1. Duplicated the original layer
2. Adjusted the levels by determining first the darkest/lightest part of the image using threshold adjustments.
3. Dodging/Burning by creating dark/light curves adjustment layers and painting white over the mask.
4. After painting, I adjusted the red channel by adding 12% to get the skin look close to natural(I tried to!)

My objective here was to add drama to the original image, which apparently i find too flat, and added shadows and and highlights.

Please give me a professional honest opinion.

Thank you.

Attached Images
File Type: jpg critique.jpg (58.3 KB, 135 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 04-29-2007, 09:23 PM
Re: need honest opinion

It's a bit hard to tell at that small size (I know, 100k isn't much). The first thing that caught my eye was the halo. I think I know what you were going for, and it might look better fullsized, but here it looks like you outlined her rather than have an actual background with depth.

Could be a bit magenta, too (again, hard to tell, and color on the web is problematic).
Reply With Quote top
Old 04-29-2007, 10:23 PM

I am very sorry to tell you that I am NOT able to help you in this respect as your image is 2 small 2 "c" it's details.
If you upload it in a reasonable size, then it would be my pleaseure to write my comment.
Reply With Quote top
Old 04-30-2007, 12:50 AM