RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Critiques
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Critiques The place to get serious, in-depth analysis and opinions of your work

Critique Picture - Be Critical

Old 05-21-2007, 02:01 PM

Critique Picture - Be Critical

This is a picture of my daughter she is 3 weeks old. I have not done much to retouch the picture just converted it to back and white. Is there anything that I can do to make this picture better, retouching or anything that I could have done when taking the picture. I am not a professional photographer but I am looking for profection. So ANYTHING even something small please let me know what you would change.

Thanks to everyone in advance,
Terrence
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Allisonweb.jpg (99.0 KB, 82 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 05-21-2007, 02:26 PM

Re: Critique Picture - Be Critical

Terrance... She's darling!

The white headband got completely blown out in the camera. I did a selective color adjustment on white and added some pixels back (black) so that I could colorize her little head band.

Your photo is very flat. Could probably use a small "s" curve to bring up some contrast.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg baby.jpg (31.7 KB, 69 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 05-21-2007, 09:44 PM

I agree with Swampy.

In the attached image I:
Used the Healing Brush in Photoshop to remove the white specks from the skin;
Applied NIK Dynamic Contrast filter then the Dynamic Skin Softner;
Unsharp Mask;
Lightened the scalp using a 50% gray overlay.

Beautiful baby!!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Baby-Retouch.jpg (97.8 KB, 46 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 05-21-2007, 09:59 PM

Can you post the color version? A different mixing of the color channels or B&W conversion may give better results.
Reply With Quote top
Old 05-21-2007, 10:13 PM

Thank you for everyone that has posted. I am attaching a changed picture let me know what you think. I will also attach a color version.

Thanks