RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Critiques
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Critiques The place to get serious, in-depth analysis and opinions of your work

New coloration critique pls

Old 06-23-2007, 08:46 AM

New coloration critique pls

hello all,

just visiting after being away for a little bit I have been practising my coloration on black and white photo. pls note i am very new to photoshop so i appreciate any comment i get this is the only way i know that i am doing ok as i am teaching myself photoshop techniques.

pls click on the links below to see my works on coloration.

1. http://www.pbase.com/sergio2263/inbox - 3 weeks after using photoshop

http://www.pbase.com/sergio2263/image/81005474/original

5 weeks after using photoshop.

any reply would be much appreciated.

many thanks

sergio
Reply With Quote top
Old 06-24-2007, 04:32 AM

Re: New coloration critique pls

G'day sergio,
Lips, eye's, dress and skin look cool mate, just need to desaturate the background, i reckon but artistically looks pretty good mate. Mind you I'm not much myself, but I'm sure you'll have more qualified responses soon.
i like it mate keep going, just need to define the background i reckon.
Reply With Quote top
Old 06-24-2007, 04:46 AM

Hi Sergio very nice work,I think your definately on the right track.As far as critiques are concerned I think one can always find something to fix and/or improve,personally in the second one (the woman )theres to much of one tone of the brown maybe make more shades ,deeper darker and some lighter
all in all though very nice

just my opinion Zganie
Reply With Quote top
Old 06-24-2007, 08:03 AM

I'm going to be brutally honest...
Photoshop skills and techniques are only a very small element of what makes a good colorization. The following are most important, and lacking in your images: