Re: Retouch Critique!

Hi Insensitive.

The eyes are striking.
Reply With Quote top
Old 04-04-2008, 06:28 PM

Thumbs up Re: Retouch Critique!

Hi Insensitive;
I like the shot in the middle the best.
What surprises me the most is that you left the freckles in...
Tom
Reply With Quote top
Old 04-04-2008, 07:49 PM

Notice the last few months of runway models, freckles are in and all the rage this week.
I happen to like em too, always have...
I like the work.
Reply With Quote top
Old 04-04-2008, 08:09 PM

I think freckles are beautiful
Reply With Quote top
Old 04-04-2008, 09:23 PM

Hi everyone. This is my first post, so I will try to be gentle. By way of introduction, I am a professional photographer and have been a Photoshop user for over 12 years, and currently use CS3. I have been teaching Photoshop for over 8 years now and know a thing or 2 about retouching faces.

To me, the most important aspect of retouching is that it should look realistic. A late mentor of mine, referring to traditional retouching often said that if something looks retouched, the artist didn't do a good job. Retouching should be invisible and realistic looking. The biggest mistake retouchers make is in overdoing it. I have been reading through the forums for a couple of weeks now and have been looking through this thread. I find one common trait in many retouchers and that's the tendency to over whiten eyes. Sometimes teeth as well.

Insensitive, I think you did a great job and if I were the customer, I'd be ecstatic. I would like to offer a couple of observations that I think will take a good job and make it even better. Please bear with me. I've been told I can be longwinded