RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Critiques
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Critiques The place to get serious, in-depth analysis and opinions of your work

Opinions on a Black and White Technique

Old 04-13-2008, 06:41 PM

Opinions on a Black and White Technique

Attached are a before and after of my cat, Winston. I've been working for some time on a black and white technique that will hopefully be relatively universal. This is one example of that effort, and I was hoping to get some feedback on the photograph (some opinions on composition), and the quality of the black and white image, as per the developed technique.

Since this is the first thread I'm posting in here, let me say (in accordance with the guidelines), that I have roughly twelve years experience with Photoshop. I've been using it since version 4.0. I've also been into photography for a while. While I'm relatively new to this forum, I'm not new to photo restoration, repair, photography, etc.

The image, prior to the black and white conversion, began with a few touch-ups. I opened the fill lights in camera raw to bring out the details in his fur. I also adjusted the temperature to about 6500°.
In Photoshop proper, I sampled a piece of the wall (Filter-Pattern Maker) and used the patch tool to blot out the majority of the chair in the foreground. I used the Polygonal Lasso Tool along the edge of the window sill on a new layer and filled it with the same pattern (Edit-Fill-Use: Pattern), and tweaked the shadows and highlights until it matched just right (Image-Adjustments-Shadow/Hightlight). The rest I touched up with the healing brush as needed until the image looked clean.