RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Critiques
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Critiques The place to get serious, in-depth analysis and opinions of your work

Fashion critique for a newbie!

Old 12-10-2008, 05:39 AM

Thumbs down Fashion critique for a newbie!

Hey fellow re-touchers! I'm brand new to retouching and these forums, so nice to meet you. This is my third try at dodge and burn retouching. It took me waaaaay longer than it should have, but I'm getting faster every time. I'm looking for brutal, scathing critique please. The faster I know what I'm screwing up, the faster I can correct the habit. I've seen countless people post a retouch of theirs for a critique only to forget to mention what the image was intended for. I vowed never to make the same mistake!

This is intended to be a fashion retouch for an ad in a high end fashion magazine. The photographer wants a natural perfect skin look (don't they all!), and he mentioned that he wanted me to correct the model's hideously imbalanced facial features.

In case anyone is curious, this is what I did:

- Applied a general color correction and curves.
- Removed the massive zits with clone stamp
- Hours and hours of skin correcting dodge and burn
- Facial contour reshaping with good old D&B
- Eyes brightening and color
- Lip shaping and color
- Some fly-away hair removal around the face
- Adjusting skin tone
- That filter that you apply on overlay at the end that improves contrast, I can't remember what it's called.
- I'm sure I did more, but it's all a blur after the dodge and burn

I'm planning on taking the background out a little later, so I didn't bother cleaning up the fly-away hairs above her head.

One more thing. I uploaded the original and the retouch full size to flikr, but it is displaying a smaller version on their site. Anyone know why? Thanks in advance, and remember: Brutal critique!

EDIT: