Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Critiques
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Critiques The place to get serious, in-depth analysis and opinions of your work

Critique & Advice Please..

Old 04-30-2009, 06:32 AM
Question Critique & Advice Please..

firstly I appreciate any advice that can be offered ,

basically I've been studying retouching for the past 2 years through a range of courses & resources incl. this great site & have developed some strong skills

I am now really eager to get out there & make a career of it but it's slightly unclear to me how to do this when I've no previous work or refs etc aside from an in process portfolio of images acquired from the net etc such as the samples attached

I'd like to get some feedback on the work attached (1st I went for a standard retouch , 2nd a more subjective finish) here so I can really assess if I am ready for pro work & also to offer my services to any interested photographers etc in exchange for the reference & use of finished work in my personal portfolio, I can provide more samples if required .

I have shown portraits here but am happy to retouch pretty much anything..

Also if anyone can suggest any good resources for finding & contacting photographers etc that would be great.

Thanks , Mark
London , UK
Attached Images
File Type: jpg r3final.jpg (139.6 KB, 53 views)
File Type: jpg r3before.jpg (171.2 KB, 50 views)
File Type: jpg r2final.jpg (169.1 KB, 52 views)
File Type: jpg r2before.jpg (185.2 KB, 48 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 04-30-2009, 06:45 AM
Re: Critique & Advice Please..

very nice work... maybe, on the first photo desaturate just a little bit the white in the eyes and saturate iris (or darken it... ) the skin is really nice and smooth :-)
Reply With Quote top
Old 05-01-2009, 01:53 PM

thanks lucija , I suppose I err on the side of caution with eye whitening as it can easily go too far & flatten out the whole eye , also iris pointer noted , cheers