Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Critiques
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Critiques The place to get serious, in-depth analysis and opinions of your work

First time posting here

Old 09-13-2009, 10:52 AM
First time posting here

Hi is my first time posting a retouch =] Its an older one and I have others in progress but I thought I would throw this out there so maybe some of you guys can see where I am and tell me where I can go.

My photoshop history: I've been using the program for about 4 years now so I really know my way around it...most of my "skill" has come through experimentation though tutorials are and have always been a blessing.

Anywho, heres a side by side. It is really just a "Lets see how far I can take this" project where I focused on using masks to move around hair and really tried keeping everything natural looking but still wanting to do a fair amount of editing.

Please maybe look past the coloring job, that too was to see how far I could go. I realize skin tones are probably way off as this is the first time I've ever tried to color a black and white photo.

Please be as harsh as possible lol =]
Reply With Quote top
Old 09-13-2009, 02:05 PM
Re: First time posting here

I think it looks pretty good, maybe a little strong. Welcome and looking forward to your work.
Reply With Quote top
Old 09-20-2009, 12:51 PM

Originally Posted by MiningArt View Post
I think it looks pretty good, maybe a little strong. Welcome and looking forward to your work.
I agree with mining art looks good but a little strong on skin color. I never colorized a b/w photo so I do not know what to suggest
Reply With Quote top
Old 09-28-2009, 08:47 AM

Hello Etha,

If you'd have done this for a friend I would imagine they would be quite content because it would be perceived as an improvement, however, a few personal sentiments.