RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Critiques
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Critiques The place to get serious, in-depth analysis and opinions of your work

Advice and critique please

Old 11-13-2009, 01:00 AM

Advice and critique please

Hi,
I am new here and this is my first post. I have been dabbling with retouching portrait with photoshop for the past 2 months. So I am fairly new in retouching portrait. I have been told that I am too heavy handed in my retouching, so I am working on not doing that (especially on the skin).

Attached is my recent retouch using technique that I just learned, to try to maintain the texture of the skin.

Am I on the right track? Any feedbacks and suggestions for improvement.

Thanks.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg retouch_BEFORE.jpg (96.8 KB, 109 views)
File Type: jpg retouch_AFTER.jpg (97.8 KB, 114 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 11-13-2009, 04:50 AM

Re: Advice and critique please

Its to much visible blurring for my taste. I prefer mostly dodge and burn based techniques.

There are some nice tutorials here ....
http://www.carrienyc.com/tutorials.html
Reply With Quote top
Old 11-13-2009, 12:06 PM

Thanks for the feedback, pellepiano. Appreciate the link. Awesome videos there !
Reply With Quote top
Old 11-13-2009, 12:37 PM
Patron

Rummym, Welcome to RetouchPRO Hope you enjoy your stay here and make lots of friends. Poke around, try some of our three pages of Retouching tutorials, have fun!

Hate to be sooo critical on your first post.... but... it is getting very close to the plastic look and you have introduced some shadow areas along some borders (maybe from using to much High Pass)

to brighten the eyes it is sometimes better to just work on the Irises and leave the whites the natural color while maybe getting rid or softening the red veins with a feathered selection and edit the red using hue/saturation adjustment