Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Critiques
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Critiques The place to get serious, in-depth analysis and opinions of your work

My 1st retouch on this site...

Old 01-26-2010, 02:52 AM
Smile My 1st retouch on this site...

Hello all, I'm new here (and a bit scared!) I've attached a link to a before and after of my 1st detailed retouch for your comments. I've been working with photoshop for a few years now, I'm employed in a fairly low end, 'quick fix' type retouching job and I'm desperate to do some high end work! So this image took me quite a long time (the file was 1.28Gb when finished!) it's basically a 1st go at more detailed dodging and burning along with other techniques I've picked up along the way..... all comments welcome. Click link below

Reply With Quote top
Old 01-26-2010, 09:54 AM
Re: My 1st retouch on this site...

Looks pretty darn good. I'd color correct a little bit (looks too green/yellow), and I'd add just a little texture back in the chest area. Other than that, looks pretty good.
Reply With Quote top
Old 01-26-2010, 10:41 AM

I think you did a wonderful job! Again - I like images where some of the little flaws that make us all unique and who we are are not totally obliterated, but the "high end" magazines don't seem to be concerned with that. Really well done though and you should be proud.
Reply With Quote top
Old 01-26-2010, 10:47 AM

definitely good work. Just a couple things: Did you blur at all? It's becoming a little smooth on the chest area I would bring that down a touch. The shadows on the neck are a little unappealing I would try and fix those. I like that you tweaked the eye a little bit and great job shading on the lips, but I would work with the top one a bit. it looks very thin in comparison to the bottom and its a little sharp around the edges. nice work.
Reply With Quote top
Old 01-26-2010, 01:37 PM