RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Critiques
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Critiques The place to get serious, in-depth analysis and opinions of your work

Beauty Retouching Critique

Old 05-04-2010, 08:33 AM

Beauty Retouching Critique

Hi,

I'm fairly new to fashion and beauty retouching and quickly developing a passion for it. Please take a look at my portfolio.

Is the quality of my work up to the standard clients are looking for? Any criticism on would be most appreciated!

Many thanks,

RD

Last edited by Robrasil; 02-23-2015 at 01:05 PM.
Reply With Quote top
Old 05-04-2010, 10:24 PM
Patron

Re: Beauty Retouching Critique

Robert, welcome to RetouchPro. Very nice work. The quality looks very good.
Regards, Murray
Reply With Quote top
Old 05-05-2010, 05:43 AM

Thanks for your reply Murray.
Reply With Quote top
Old 05-05-2010, 01:16 PM

Great start Robert!
A few things to consider.
First, I would retain original skin tones. Well, corrected original skin tone...it just looks more natural...
Second, watch that contrast...in some of your image you have too much of it. (image 3,4,5). You don't want it to look fake.
Third, image 3, the side of her hand in desaturated. And I've seen it on a few other image in your port. That is a big give away that it's been PSed.
my 2c.
Have fun,
HK
Reply With Quote top
Old 05-06-2010, 05:52 AM

Some good points there HK. I understand the balance of perfecting a beauty image whilst remaining hidden is a tricky one. I agree that my images are heavy on contrast, and especially number 3, also 4 and 5, looking a bit too photoshoped.

Could you expand on the point about skin tone please HK, or anyone else? I'd like to get it right.

I appreciate your feedback.

One more question I would ask to anyone who views this is whether the before-and-after message that pops up when the portfolio section loads, is obvious?

regards,

Rob

Last edited by Robrasil; 05-06-2010 at 06:34 AM.