Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Critiques
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Critiques The place to get serious, in-depth analysis and opinions of your work

pro shooter here

Old 09-16-2010, 01:05 PM
pro shooter here

Hello All,

I am a professional photographer from the great city of Nashville, Tennessee (full time shooter these last eight years) who has been avidly reading and absorbing the great information on this site for quite some time.

Great info here and no drama, you retouchers seem to be a pretty calm and certainly a very helpful group

After downloading Godmother's fabulous tutorial video from her deviant art page maybe a year or so back - and realizing that as good as I and my clients think I am at retouching I don't know JACK about the real thing, I have been using what teensy bits of spare time I have in my editing schedule to begin the process of actually learning how to dodge and burn.

I don't know what kind of photo geek I have to be to say this's fascinating stuff. Not something I can use on our basic business headshot - we do tons of those - or on a band or a fitness model (tons again) but on a close up beauty photograph, it is a technique I am determined to continue to improve.

So...attached are a before and after from a recent studio set - the before is cropped a little closer, to really see her skin - on the after I have worked only on the skin of her face, nothing touched in terms of hair or the skin on her on her neck.

I would love any and all critiques, comments, chucks to the head, whatever you've got that you feel will help me improve my technique when it comes to D&B.

Many thanks,

Shannon Fontaine
Attached Images
File Type: jpg keylen-before_resize.jpg (94.0 KB, 65 views)
File Type: jpg kaylen-db-test1_resize.jpg (86.1 KB, 71 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 09-17-2010, 11:47 AM
Re: pro shooter here