RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Critiques
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Critiques The place to get serious, in-depth analysis and opinions of your work

Please critique newbie work...

Old 10-06-2010, 04:43 PM

Please critique newbie work...

Hi guys and gals,

As the title says, I'm a newbie. I've been reading various retouching tutorials, and have been messing around with Photoshop for a few weeks. I do not want to become a professional. However, I am sort of a perfectionist, and figure if I'm going to do something then I want to do it as best as possible. I'm looking for some honest and blunt critique to tell me how I can improve. Any critique is welcomed. Thanks.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 79756_fashion copy.jpg (80.9 KB, 66 views)
File Type: jpg 79756_fashion-retouc copy.jpg (73.9 KB, 65 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 10-06-2010, 05:06 PM

Re: Please critique newbie work...

Actually... the photos came out so small in my first post that its near impossible to critique. Therefore, here is the original high resolution photos:

Original:
http://img801.imageshack.us/img801/461/79756fashion.jpg

Retouched"
http://img412.imageshack.us/img412/2...hionretouc.jpg

Thanks.
Reply With Quote top
Old 10-06-2010, 05:37 PM

Hey mate,

Hair looks way too blurred and you could do with some more texture on the skin. Eyebrows look good but the eyelashes look fake.

Good job with the colour of the iris.

Overall though, she feels a little fake. Almost like a painting. Have you blurred her skin?
Reply With Quote top
Old 10-07-2010, 04:09 AM

Yes, actually I did use a gausian blur on one layer. What method do you suggest to retouch the skin? I plan on taking whatever suggestions are given and redoing it. I've read so many different tutorials out there, some good and some bad, that its hard to figure out the correct methods for doing things. However, I am trying. Thanks for the critique.
Reply With Quote top