Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Critiques
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Critiques The place to get serious, in-depth analysis and opinions of your work

My first retouch, please critique...

Old 05-02-2011, 03:21 AM
My first retouch, please critique...

I shot this photo a while ago with my new D7000, a 41cm beauty dish and one SB900. I am still a newbie in Photography and retouching.
This is my first serious retouch so I´d really appreciate your critique on what can be improved.

Basically all I know about retouching is from forums and some YouTube tutorials.

After a few "a priori" comments I´d also be willing to share the original RAW for you to experiment and compare both before and after.

So tell me what you think...
Reply With Quote top
Old 05-02-2011, 04:04 PM
Re: My first retouch, please critique...

Hi Mallefitzo.

First of all I actually like the feel of the shot. You at least kept the soul in the image and did not overdo any smoothing of the skin, kudos for that. As I see many many 'high end' retouchers go wrong; although they show skin texture, the skin texture is the same EVERYwhere, which in real life is not the case.

I do have a question and a few remarks.

question. when enlarged the face shows either he has freckles all over his face or something went wrong with the skin touching.. he seems to have white and or brown spots all over his skin. I would have tried to get that in balance a bit more. Curious to see the 'before' picture.

a few remarks:

1. I see orange in his eyebrows. Is this make up? Just get all the colors in the hair the same.. light and dark is ok, as long as its the same color. Not brown and orange.