Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Critiques
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Critiques The place to get serious, in-depth analysis and opinions of your work

First Post/My retouch for you to see

Old 06-07-2012, 08:25 PM
First Post/My retouch for you to see

second attempt

Last edited by InspireImagine; 06-08-2012 at 07:32 AM.
Reply With Quote top
Old 06-08-2012, 12:12 AM
Re: First Post/My retouch for you to see

I’m going to be honest with you here ¬¬– I do not like it. The criticism here is meant to encourage you rather than being dismissive of your efforts. I can’t comment on the photography as I have no knowledge of it beyond its aesthetics.

The main issues I see are:
- You over-plugged the shadows (specially on her face and hair ROC) whereas I think it might have been better trying to recover those plugged areas from the RAW and try to achieve a better balance. Her left eye (ROC) needs to lighten up on the eye lid to match the other one a bit better.
- The hairline could use a bit more tidying up. The hair needs a lot more work overall; right now it feels like a big mass of overly plugged and saturated areas, try to recover it with multiple exposures from the RAW file. Try to somehow brig its texture and shape out. Right now it’s starting to blend in with the background.
- The pupils are overworked to the point of being unrealistic and “cartoonish”. This might have been your intent; I personally do not like it since it is incongruent with the rest of the image.
- The skin is quite heavily blurred (not entirely sure which method you used) and quite subpar in terms of final “polish” – there are some areas where cloning and healing are needed. The effect of the blur on her arm hairs is quite bad in my opinion.

I’m not a fan of her wrist in that position, it’s a bit jarring – I would have liquefied it a tad to make it less prominent.