Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Critiques
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Critiques The place to get serious, in-depth analysis and opinions of your work

Request for comment

Old 07-06-2012, 07:24 AM
Request for comment

Hi everyone,

I am an amateur photographer/retoucher.

I would like a professional opinion on this image.
I am already aware that this image falls short on matte extraction (regarding the technique), but I would like to know what else fails (and not only technically but artistically as well).

I consider it my best post-production work so far, and I have spent a lot of time working on it.

I have used following software to process this image (this is probably irrelevant, but I will post it anyway):

Ubuntu 12.04 - operating system,
RawTherapee - raw image converter,
GIMP 2.8 - for retouching and compositing,
Blender 3D - for rendering background image and God Rays effect around the subject.

Thank you in advance.

Reply With Quote top
Old 07-06-2012, 03:48 PM
Re: Request for comment

Sunglasses? Really?

As you say some of the masking is off, I like the highlight work, although it is extreme, I see what you were going for.
Reply With Quote top
Old 07-07-2012, 04:40 AM

The head is a bit dense compared to the body. It gives the impression of a bad comp there. His right pec feels off compared to the rest. The brightness makes it feel like a tan line issue. I might go slightly closer in color/tone between pecs and abs. The background shouldn't feel so out of focus given his proximity to it. I'd model it out a bit further so that it feels like something is actually there. Right now it just feels like a graphic. Some texturing wouldn't hurt. Right now I feel like you're throwing it out of focus because it has nothing, yet the pants are in focus, and you've got a very sharp edge to him. I'd just like it to be a little more consistent in that regard.