RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Critiques
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Critiques The place to get serious, in-depth analysis and opinions of your work

Beauty image, critiques welcomed!

Old 04-06-2015, 06:34 PM

Beauty image, critiques welcomed!

Hi forum, this is my first time showing my work. I'm college graduate and would like to have these images critiqued (both positive and negative welcomed).

image:
1) before, after
2) before, after
3) before, after
4) before, after

Thanks in advance, Milan.
Reply With Quote top
Old 04-06-2015, 07:13 PM

Re: Beauty image, critiques welcomed!

I'm not sure what to say here. You could use some technical practice, but more than that you would benefit from looking through similar work and studying details of it. Some of the interpretation here is just really poor, especially things like lip colors. They don't resemble actual makeup and in 2 of those cases are significantly worse than the originals. It's actually easy to regress like that, but it highlights the importance of really thinking about the intended changes.
Reply With Quote top
Old 04-06-2015, 08:02 PM

Thanks klev.
I did change lip color intentionally, just like I did with background color. Looks like you don't find it nicer at all Foreground warmer tones bring contrast to more cooler background color, which I find pleasing. Would you rather leave original lip color?

How's my d&b technique? I like that all these pictures look solid when viewed black and white, is that something you consider required, even when looking at colored photograph, how to you evaluate d&b?
Reply With Quote top
Old 04-06-2015, 10:12 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by mix_ns View Post
Thanks klev.