RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Critiques
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Critiques The place to get serious, in-depth analysis and opinions of your work

First repair

Old 07-12-2003, 10:10 PM

First repair

First off.. I am a complete newbie at PS and repairing/restoring photos. But, since finding RetouchPro forums I feel I am learning from the members here.

The attached photo is my very first repair job. I would like the members here to tell me what I did right... and mostly.. what I did wrong.

This photo did not have much to repair. The original photo is a glossy print and it was scrubbed all over, and had a couple small cracks. Most of what I did with this photo was with the stamp tool and unsharp mask... nothing as fantastic as what most of you are doing here.

Michael.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg farn-001-after.jpg (97.8 KB, 115 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 07-12-2003, 10:16 PM

This is the Original Picture.

Michael_M
Attached Images
File Type: jpg farn-001-before.jpg (94.3 KB, 87 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 07-12-2003, 10:23 PM
Janitor

Michael:

That's pretty darn good for your first attempt!

I do see, however, that the shadow areas (blacks) have been pretty much stripped of detail. That's usually due to overly agressive use of levels or curves. Also, there appear to be some diagonal creases still going across the middle. Those might be powerlines, though (hard to tell).
Reply With Quote top
Old 07-12-2003, 11:13 PM

Thanks Doug. Your critique means a lot to me.

What would you have done with this photo? (aside from repairing the cracks and marks, that is.)

Michael.
Reply With Quote top
Old 07-12-2003, 11:55 PM
Janitor