Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Critiques
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Critiques The place to get serious, in-depth analysis and opinions of your work

Hi all. Newbie wants feedback.

Old 06-19-2004, 11:33 PM
Hi all. Newbie wants feedback.

This is my first post in this great forum.

I'm a newbie to photography other than the usual family snapshots that everyone takes. The below before and after pictures are my first real attempt at being creative digitally.My only art training is an acrylic painting class at the local community college. My style is to jump into something and figure out the details later.

I snapped the picture on the spur of the moment while walking into a Cubs game. I think I got a bit lucky with the juxtaposition of the baseball program against the Wrigley Field sign...but I will give myself credit for instantly realizing it was a picture to take.

As for my Photoshop manipulation of the image.It was easy really.I stumbled across the tutorial on the web and pretty much followed the directions for the "Hayes Island Cafe" technique linked below.I have no real skills built up in Photoshop and would be overwhelmed to try to do something all on my own yet.

I have to admit I'm amazed at my results for a first attempt and I hope it inspires others newbies to just try something and see what happens.
I am truly filled with wonder at the possibilites with a digtal camera and Photoshop.

Thanks to all for this incredibly informative forum. MJ
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 116-1618_thumbnail.jpg (68.8 KB, 83 views)
File Type: jpg Wrigley-Photoshop-thumbnail.jpg (88.5 KB, 107 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 06-20-2004, 10:37 AM
Location: northwest Indiana, about 45 minutes from Chicago, IL
Nice shot! The effects are really dramatic! After looking at your profile, I realized that coming from Wisconsin, you could have gone a few miles more to the south to get to a major league park!! Go Sox!! Welcome to RetouchPro.