RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Critiques
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Critiques The place to get serious, in-depth analysis and opinions of your work

Old retouch

Old 07-08-2004, 07:51 AM

Old retouch

Hi all!

I thought I'd post this old retouch I made some time ago and wait for the killing critism

Patrick
Attached Images
File Type: jpg maria.jpg (35.4 KB, 86 views)
File Type: jpg maria_orig.jpg (44.9 KB, 101 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 07-08-2004, 08:21 AM

Hi PatrickB,

I'm new here also and still learning.

I think you did a very nice job at smoothing the skin.

On my monitor the picture is showing very dark with uneven areas of red/magenta although I brought my contrast/brightness up to 100% to compensate for it.

Perhaps softening the hair would finish off the glamour look started with the face.

I'm a newbie, please take my comments lightly.

Regards
Reply With Quote top
Old 07-08-2004, 10:12 AM

Hi Patrick, just a few quick impressions.
I have to say that in general I do not like overtouched pictures, so you can keep this in mind when reading my comments.
Firstly, as has already been said, the image has a distinct magenta cast, the skin has been over smoothed and has lost any texture it had, and therefore looks waxy and artificial.
Secondly the skin looks patchy, and there is heavy blurring on the girls ear which is easy to see and very distracting.
Lastly there is a distracting book or video cover in the bottom LH corner of the background that could do with removing.
On the positive side, you have done a nice job on her eyes,
Reply With Quote top
Old 07-08-2004, 12:44 PM

Location: northwest Indiana, about 45 minutes from Chicago, IL
Hi Patrick,