RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Critiques
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Critiques The place to get serious, in-depth analysis and opinions of your work

bright day effect

Old 07-18-2004, 07:47 AM

bright day effect

i'm a real noob (and i don't mean just this board ), and i wanted to turn a photo into a "bright day effect" (you know, like when your eyes are used to dark, and you come up to the bright day - all's shiny and saturated)

all i did was playing w/ layer's blending modes and some blurring/sharpening... but i have a feeling there's something missing (or is superfluous?); i don't think it's the glow around the isle, as even w/o it it still looks "weird" to me... maybe colours? shadows? ...
any ideas (even those not directly to the topic ) are welcome

in accordance w/ the guidelines - i don't mind anyone changing/modifying the pic, and i'm looking 4ward to any comments; thanks

the first attached pic is (scaled down) original, the other one is wha i got...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg isle_stack1_.jpg (46.1 KB, 69 views)
File Type: jpg isle_stack2_.jpg (38.1 KB, 69 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 07-18-2004, 11:20 AM

I think that main thing that looks odd between the first and second image, is that the second image is very soft and looks out of focus. Furthermore, the blurring has resulted in the lost of a lot of detail.

Here is what I did:

1. Duplicated layer

2. Filter>Render>Lighting Effects Light Type: Omni. I widened the light circle until it covered the entire photo. Then adjust the levels to your desired output.

3. The results seemed a bit too overexposed for my tastes so I change the layers mode to soft light. You can experiment with hard light or vivid light, or even duplicating the layer and seeing just how bright you want to go.

4. For a final boost try adding a Curves adjustment.

5. Finally, I applied a very slight unsharp mask just to the island.
Attached Images