RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Critiques
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Critiques The place to get serious, in-depth analysis and opinions of your work

Grading Season

Old 08-28-2004, 02:37 AM

Grading Season

Hi my dear Masters.

Me again, trying to find out if I am a good student .
This restoration was on request. (the first one on request and of course didn't charge for it ) The original was about 2x3 in. I spent about 6 hours on it and this is what I did:
1.- Scanned it with a 300 resolution output
2.- Mode>RGB
3.- Filter>B/W
4.- Auto Levels, Auto Contrast
5.- De-Crack action 2 times (found out this action is wonderful but sometimes it "pixelates" and spots the picture.
6.- Clone, Clone, Clone, Heal, Heal, Heal
7.- Changed canvas size, completed and restored background
8.- Completed suit and applied new texture to it.
9.- Extracted face>dust and scratches>reduced opacity>layer mask>painted on face features.

Please let me know how you think I did...if it looks a bit close to profesional, what else can I do to improve it and "grade" me.

Respectfully yours....(trying to get on the teachers' good side jeje)

Mosha
Attached Images
File Type: jpg PapaConsueloWeb.jpg (55.4 KB, 78 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 08-28-2004, 07:48 AM

Hi Mosha. I'll play teacher.
First off, you did a pretty good job on this, especially around the eye area (I like that you haven't resorted to heavy blurring as a means of removing damage). For my taste, the image has too much contrast. The forehead and hairline could use a bit more work, but all in all, I'm sure a customer would be very happy with your results.
Having said that, there are some other issues that, as a "teacher" I would address.
I noticed that you scanned in RGB, but went straight to BW filter. You didn't mention whether you checked the channels for a better image - one of the main reasons for scanning in RGB.