RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Critiques
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Critiques The place to get serious, in-depth analysis and opinions of your work

Am I on the right track here?

Old 11-01-2004, 08:58 PM

Am I on the right track here?

This picture is from my friend's wedding. It doesn't need to be perfect, but I'm trying to make it look a little better so I can post it on her wedding website along with some others. I'm a self-taught Photoshop novice.

I thought the bagpiper looked blurry and didn't stand out. I sharpened him and put a slight blur on the background, then added some more color to his skin, bagpipe, kilt and the tag on his socks. In the actual photograph, the person doesn't take up very much of the frame and it's difficult to see the changes I made, so I cropped it. Hopefully you will be able to see what I did, it's pretty subtle. What do you think, am I on the right track?

ETA, The original photo is second, fixed is first.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg bpcloseup.jpg (74.5 KB, 75 views)
File Type: jpg bpfixed.jpg (68.7 KB, 68 views)

Last edited by keepemcomin; 11-01-2004 at 08:58 PM. Reason: clarity
Reply With Quote top
Old 11-01-2004, 10:37 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by keepemcomin
What do you think, am I on the right track?
You sure are!
One of the hardest parts is identifying the problems - seems that you OK on that one. As to getting round them, that's what this place is all about.

Like you said, our kilted friend doesn't stand out too well. To separate the main subject from the background there is a whole list of variations that can be used: light / dark, saturated / unsaturated, color A / color B, sharpened / blurred.......
Our bagpiper is just too similar to the tree on the left: same lightness, same fully saturated colors, same range of colors - just the blurring alone won't be enough.