RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Critiques
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Critiques The place to get serious, in-depth analysis and opinions of your work

Critique First Colorizing

Old 11-06-2004, 05:19 PM

Critique First Colorizing

I only recently found this awesome site, and this is my first post...so greetings to everyone! Although I've done several restorations for my wife's genealogical consulting, this is my first attempt at colorizing so I am very much a beginner. Any constructive criticism would be very much appreciated! My hope is to learn colorization well enough to offer this as an additional service.

I used PaintShop Pro 9, starting with some minor restoration then using the techniques described in a tutorial suggested in this forum (thanks for the tip, Flora!). I realize many of you use Photoshop but I was able to easily apply the same methods with PSP9. What I liked most about this technique is the use of masks to control the application of color. It is quite forgiving, allowing you to experiment easily to get the desired results.

The original is a photo of my mother as a girl. Please give me feedback on any improvements so I can make mom proud

- Kurt
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Mom_before.jpg (76.0 KB, 88 views)
File Type: jpg Mom_after.jpg (62.6 KB, 135 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 11-06-2004, 05:49 PM

Thumbs down

Wow you really did a great job! The skin tones are great
Reply With Quote top
Old 11-06-2004, 07:03 PM

Location: northwest Indiana, about 45 minutes from Chicago, IL