RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Critiques
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Critiques The place to get serious, in-depth analysis and opinions of your work

Red Sandking

Old 12-22-2004, 07:45 PM

Red Sandking

This is my first attempt at a red sandking per the George R. R. Martin short story
"Sandkings". Thoughts on how I could make it better? It's 'constructed' from bits and pieces of random insect images found via Google Image Find. While I think it's faithful to the description in the story:
Quote:
Barely as long as his fingernail, six-limbed, with six tiny eyes set all around its body. A wicked set of mandibles clicked visibly, while two long, fin antennae wove patterns in the air. Antennae, mandibles, eyes, and legs were sooty black, but the dominant color was the burnt orange of its armor plating. . . .
. . . Here the sandkings had bright red armor; antennae, mandibles, eyes, and legs were yellow. Kress glanced across the tank. The denizens of the third live castle were off-white, with red trim.
I'm not especially happy with it.

Craig
Attached Images
File Type: jpg sandking.jpg (60.1 KB, 81 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 12-28-2004, 01:31 PM

great job

I have never seen one of these before but i think it is a great job. Colors and the whole painting. I don't understand why you got 73 views and not replys. This is one of the best on this site.
Reply With Quote top
Old 12-29-2004, 09:48 AM

re: Not many comments so far
Not surprising. This is RetouchPRO, afterall, and most folks who view/post in this forum aren't as into arty-stuff like this as others.

Nonetheless from a technical perspective, this is pretty incredible "plastic surgery" (piecing it all together).

My .02:
* Perhaps find a more interesting background vs. all-the-same-texture