RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Critiques
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Critiques The place to get serious, in-depth analysis and opinions of your work

Opinion need!!

Old 01-09-2005, 06:56 PM

Opinion needed!!

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hi all!

I'm no professional retoucher. I have been doing retouching for about 2 years now. I'm a guy who learnes by testing and exploring things. I work with Photoshop CS. I specifically chosed this project to see how advanced I have become and what I need to practise more on. This webcam-pic has a terrible quality (with purpuse). I tried to enhance it to it's optimal capacity. Tell me what you think of it? Appreciate it, really!

There are few things in some pixels that could be fixed, I know... But it was really hard to accomplish what I did.. Took me 1,5 day actually.

I have done lightes, colors, plastic surgery, make-up and a few more things.

The final picture was meant to look something like a cover on a cd album or alike.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Emmy orig 1.jpg (84.3 KB, 36 views)
File Type: jpg Emmy 1.jpg (94.6 KB, 53 views)

Last edited by djdk2000; 01-09-2005 at 08:49 PM.
Reply With Quote top
Old 01-09-2005, 08:37 PM

Hi Dimtrij,

First of all, given the subject, overall its an 'ok' effort...

The first thing that i noticed is the Hair, you have over shaprened and as a result it has become pixelated.
You have done a good job with the skin, maybe just a little bit too much as the skin has no texture, but it is a webcam shot, so it's something to bear in mind for the future.
The edges needs softening as you can see the pixelation around the nostril, eye lashes and lips.
The background itself needs a little more attention, i would say bring the background to the edge of the subject as can still see the old background through the opacity.