Go Back   RetouchPRO > Tools > Hardware
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Hardware Computers, displays, tablets, scanners, cameras, printers, etc.

F stop..

Old 07-07-2005, 04:55 PM
F stop..

I'm getting the adapter for my Canon S2 IS to allow other lenses to be put on. I'm getting a Circular Polarizer. Someone reccommended Hoya to me as good ones, so I bought one. It's 5mm thick, double threaded. This is the one I bought:

It states:

"Filter factor is between 2.3 and 2.8 (approx. +1.3 stops)."

Does that mean when I press the button to snap a picture it'll take longer for it to actually take the picture?! Such as when I shoot fireworks with fireworks mode on (F8.0) it takes maybe 1 to 1.5 seconds from when I press the button to when it actually takes a picture.
Reply With Quote top
Old 07-07-2005, 07:49 PM
I'm no expert, but this is my understanding --
The Canon S2-IS has been measured by as having shutter lag of approximately one/tenth of a second (The amount of time it takes from a full depression of the shutter release button (assuming you have already primed the camera with a half-press) to the image being taken.)
This can be longer if you have not already focused the camera with a half-press of the shutter. When you were shooting fireworks, if you pressed the shutter to focus on the sky rocket as it went up, you probably had a longer shutter lag of nearer to seven/tenths of a second. This "shutter lag" is ADDED to the amount of time that is required for a proper exposure of a particular image.