Go Back   RetouchPRO > Tools > Hardware
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Hardware Computers, displays, tablets, scanners, cameras, printers, etc.

Digital Camera and scanner - help to pick

Old 01-17-2006, 07:36 PM
Digital Camera and scanner - help to pick

Hi I received a prize for 10 years of continued work at my employer's firm. Oddly enough they would not give me the money so I could use it to fix several things I badly need to do at my home. So I am supposed to pick an item or two but they have to be new.

There are only two things that I think will be nice to have though were not on top of my priorities list. I intend to buy a digital camera and a scanner.

I have no experience in photography except having used my office's digital camera two or three times.

I am listing below some models available in my country at the moment hoping some one could give me some advise on which would be more convenient to buy in view of my inexperience. The use I have in mind for the camera is to take some close-ups of flowers, leaves, insects textures etc. to use for manipulations and PS brushes and textures. The scanner to scan many very old family photos.

HP SCANNER -MODEL SJ 2400 - resolucion de 1200 dpi y 48 bits, . Scanning speed 12 seg. Resolution 1200 x 1200 dpi. Compatible w/Windows 98, Me, 2000 profesional, XP; Mac OS x9.1 o posterior. Conectivity USB. Scaling10% a 2000%. 1 año de garantia. (the larger resolution ones are scanner and printer all in one and much too expensive)

Res. 5.1 megapixels. Lens Olympus 6.1 mm. Zoom digital de 4x. Screen LCD TFT color de 1.5". Flash incorporado con 4 modos. Memoria interna de 14 MB. Compatible con PC y Macintosh.

CANON DIGITAL CAMERA A400 (cod 32691 )
3,2 megapíxeles. Zoom 2.2x. Processor DIGIC. Autofoco AiAF en 9 puntos. Vídeo w/sound. Impresión (print?) PictBridge. Memory SD 16 Mb included. Red eye reduction. Modo de impresión de la fecha en postales. High resolution LCD