RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Tools > Hardware
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Hardware Computers, displays, tablets, scanners, cameras, printers, etc.

Need recommendation for video card

Old 03-08-2007, 02:47 PM

Need recommendation for video card

I have been using Photoshop CS for about 4 years. My interest is to continue using it as a hobby. I find it relaxing and interesting but I have no desire to go beyond being a hobbiest. I own a Dell 4400 with 384 SDRAM, a 40 G HD and 1.7 MHz. The computer is 5 years old and because of my advanced age (77) may well outlast me. I do plan, however, to upgrade when I feel that it is necessary. So far it has adequate speed etc. to do all the things I want to do.

I would like to use 2 CRT monitors. My main reason is to shift all tools etc to one monitor and use my main monitor for editing etc. I have an AGP video card which I would like to replace with one that will function with 2 monitors. I have searched this and other forums but I would apprciate some input form people on RetouchPro. I would like an inexpensive card since I would hate to buy an expensive one and find that my computer no longer meets my need. I would appreciate specific recommendations so that I might be able to search the Internet for the best possible price.

Thank you.
Reply With Quote top
Old 03-08-2007, 07:06 PM
Patron

Re: Need recommendation for video card

I have a couple of Dell4400s at home...good, reliable machines too. I did have one of them set up as dual display for a time also. The motherboard in the 4400 (well in my 2 at least) can only support up to 4x AGP bus, most current AGP graphics cards are at least 8x (basically, data throughput is faster) but they should still be okay to run in your Dell, just not to the agp card's full potential.