RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Tools > Hardware
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Hardware Computers, displays, tablets, scanners, cameras, printers, etc.

Wacom Bamboo Electronic Tablet and Pen

Old 03-21-2008, 07:21 PM

Wacom Bamboo Electronic Tablet and Pen

I tried replying to an old thread about Wacom Tablet's, but it was so old, I couldn't do it! So here's a new thread about this topic...

I'm thinking about buying a Wacom Tablet for learning smudge painting.

Circuit City has a "Wacom Bamboo Electronic Tablet and Pen" right now for $69.99. Since I'm a newbie, stay at home mom, doing this as a hobby and for friends, and since money is definitely an issue, will this be an okay purchase? Or will I regret it?

Specs:

• 5.8" x 3.7" active area
• Pressure sensitive
• Battery-free pen
• Precise control
• Ergonomic design
• PC or Mac

Thanks!!
Heidi
Reply With Quote top
Old 03-21-2008, 07:33 PM

Re: Wacom Bamboo Electronic Tablet and Pen

wacom makes nice products, i haven't used that model but you can read the reviews on amazon.com...
Reply With Quote top
Old 03-21-2008, 07:34 PM

Thanks! Yes, I was just looking at that. It got 5 stars on a variety of websites...so I think I may go for it...until I can afford to upgrade...one day...
Reply With Quote top
Old 03-21-2008, 10:48 PM

Even though it is an entry level unit you will be delighted. The difference between using a pen and a mouse is like night and day. Enjoy...
Reply With Quote top
Old 03-21-2008, 10:50 PM

Hey Heidi. I've been using a 3.5" X 5" Wacom everyday for the last 5 years. Once you use a tablet for Photoshop you will never go back to using a mouse. I paid $100 for mine and it's been worth every penny. I like the small size. Your tablet should come with Corel Essentials Painter 3 and some other software as a bonus. Well worth buying.

Joe
Reply With Quote top
Old 07-06-2010, 12:00 AM