RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Tools > Hardware
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Hardware Computers, displays, tablets, scanners, cameras, printers, etc.

LAcie vs Apple vs Eizo

Old 07-22-2008, 08:12 PM

Question LAcie vs Apple vs Eizo

Hi there,

This is my first post. I'm a photographer and not yet great experienced retoucher, so I don't really know all the jargon that comes with the correct screen .I 've had a Lacie 19" and an Apple 20" cinema display which has both been fine.

I'm now looking at either buying a new 23 " Apple, or the Lacie 324 or the Eizo sx2461w

Their all in the samish price bracket although the apple is a lot cheaper. So far I've not had serious problems with my Apple but I really want to get my workflow more colour correct and apparantly they darken to the edges ... my lMacbook screen does that a bit...

An extra question would be which Colour calibrator with which screen. The X-rite Eye One, The Blue Eye ( boxed with the Lacie) or the Colour Munki all in one.

I' really need some background on what to look for in screens. Al the 92% ntsc and 12 lut and OEM and other jargon just goes over my head. I need a screen for editing photos which can be used as a close as possible colour match to any output whether it be RGB inkjet PRints or tradional cmyk proofs for magazines.

I'd like to be able to tell a client :" This, what you see on-screen is what you will see in YOUR magazine with the type of paper you are using with the type of settings you are using." This is a big question - so if someone could just send me in a direction I would greatly appreciate it.

Regards

Dawie Verwey
Reply With Quote top
Old 07-22-2008, 08:53 PM

Re: LAcie vs Apple vs Eizo

the apple 23" is no longer recommended by Kodak for their MVP systems, the Eizos are nice monitors but they aren't cheap..if your apple 20 incher isn't that old you can calibrate it quite nicely with the x-rite DTP94 and BasicColor software...