RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Tools > Hardware
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Hardware Computers, displays, tablets, scanners, cameras, printers, etc.

New printer or rely on the labs.

Old 01-19-2009, 05:10 PM

New printer or rely on the labs.

Just as I treated myself at Xmas to a new Canon 40D my trusty Canon i9100 inkjet has finally gone for it's final walk with the pixies at the end of the garden and decided to stay with them !

It was on it's last legs, at nearly 5 years old and the first few years it had quite a hammering, but to be honest for the last few months the only things printed out on it where letters to the bank manager and emails.

I bought a cheap Samsung Laser printer to handle the office side of things, but now I have a dilemma:-

I am not a professional photographer but enjoy the hobby in an enthusiastic way, hence I don't need to be printing out regular amounts of prints. Most of the time me and the wife just like browsing the images on the PC or at the most, use Proshow Gold to produce DVD slide shows for family and friends.

Is it worth investing in a new inkjet or should I use a good quality lab to print out the odd picture that I want?

I cannot believe that Canon's top of the range Pixma A4 printer is only £75, but I dare say a full set of inks will cost close to £50! I'm not in the market (or have the funds post Xmas) for any of the Pro range!

I keep thinking that I would regret not having a reasonable colour printer to hand but without spending a lot would it be worth it and should I just rely on a lab?

Any help would be appreciated.

Also is there a UK equivalent of MPIX as they seem to be US/CAN based.

Regards

Tony
Reply With Quote top
Old 01-19-2009, 06:47 PM
Janitor

Re: New printer or rely on the labs.