RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Tools > Hardware
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Hardware Computers, displays, tablets, scanners, cameras, printers, etc.

Epson 1280 and Vista Help

Old 01-25-2009, 09:46 AM

Epson 1280 and Vista Help

Hi Folks,

First post here and I'm new to the profile game. I recently upgraded(?) from windows XP to Vista. I've been having a heck of a time trying to resolve my color management since the switch. I've downloaded the EasyPrint drivers for the 1280 and it is said that Vista loads the appropriate ICC profiles.

I have switched from PS 7.0 to Elements 6.0 (came with the package) and have recalibrated my monitor w/Spyder2.

The color management I had with the XP configuration was excellent, now it seems like a crapshoot as far as what exits the printer. I realize there are adjustments necessary, but I'm at a loss as to how to establish a baseline starting point.

Any insight would be appreciated - Thanks,
Denny
Reply With Quote top
Old 01-25-2009, 10:38 AM
Patron

Re: Espson 1280 and Vista Help

Denny, the printing process is essentially the same whether you are using XP or Vista.
Your problem is most likely related to you settings in the Print Dialog Box.
Is Color Management set to "Printer Manages Color" or "Photoshop Manages Color"?
The answer will determine what you select in the Page Set Up window.
What editing program are you using?
What color space are you editing in?
More info is req'd to diagnose your problem.
Regards, Murray
Reply With Quote top
Old 01-25-2009, 11:34 AM

Hi Murray, thanks for the reply. Right now I have it set that the printer manages color, I'm using PS Elemnets 6.0, the color space (source space?) is sRGB IEC61966-2.1.
Printer profile is Working RGB - Adobe RGB (1998).
Thanks,
Denny
Reply With Quote top
Old 01-25-2009, 12:35 PM
Patron