RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Tools > Hardware
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Hardware Computers, displays, tablets, scanners, cameras, printers, etc.

Wacom Cintiq

Old 08-21-2009, 06:37 AM

Wacom Cintiq

Hi All,

I was searching the forum to find info about the Wacom Cintiq - I found a few threads that were of use but i have a question that i couldn't find the answer to.

This is to people that own and use a cintiq for retouching specifically:

How has the Cintiq sped up your workflow when retouching in Photoshop? My background is in illustration (I'm very new to retouching), and i would use a tablet pc for my illustrations which was way quicker than a standard tablet - but this was with drawing etc. i'm just wondering how much quicker you can work using a cintiq compared to normal tablet?

Thanks,
Emma
Reply With Quote top
Old 08-21-2009, 08:10 AM

Re: Wacom Cintiq

I couldn't live without mine -- but I really only use it for masking (where it is indispensable) and very fine detail work. Particularly with masking, the Intuos (which I also have) just can't compare. Seeing the pen on the screen makes all the difference in the world; you get right where you need to be the moment the pen hits the screen (vs starting out in the right general vicinity with a tablet).

The only issue I have with mine is that I can't get it to perfectly match my NEC Multisync 3090WQXi. I've been on the phone with both companies' tech support, and evidently the Cintiq uses the same NEC panel as my Multisync. The only explanation I got is that it should be "close enough," and no two monitors match perfectly. Bleh. Not what you want to hear when you have $4000 in monitors.
Reply With Quote top
Old 08-24-2009, 02:53 PM

Hi Roundrock,

Thanks for your help - I do a lot of dodging and burning, but I am unsure as to whether the cintiq would speed the process up compared to the intuos. Interesting that it can when doing masks.