RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Tools > Hardware
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Hardware Computers, displays, tablets, scanners, cameras, printers, etc.

Is it time for touchscreen to replace pen tablet?

Old 01-24-2010, 05:11 AM

Is it time for touchscreen to replace pen tablet?

I've read this forum and didn't find this topic so I might ask here.

I just ordered Medium Intuos 4 online.
After talking with my friend who is Adobe rep in Thailand, I'm quite concern.

He told me that touch screen technology will come to replace pen tablet anyway. HP, Asus got touchscreen already, Apple coming soon with tablet too. Why do I buy the Wacom for $300 now?

Then I watch this VDO

I love retouching and I always use my mouse. I'm new to pen tablet, tried once on Bamboo but hate it. But all my friends told me to get one.

What is your advise? keep it or get the tablet?
Thank you,
Tom
Reply With Quote top
Old 01-24-2010, 09:47 AM

Re: Is it time for touchscreen to replace pen tabl

Unless the touch screen is sitting straight in front of you just like a pen and tablet, I'm staying with my Wacom tablet. I've been using the 3 ever since it came out and that 4 is on my list. I just watched that video link you posted, doesn't do a thing for me. I don't see a selling point. Why would one want to work on a screen with hand movement going all over the place, wasting time and energy. When you can have a large monitor with a 6x8 tablet in front of you that covers the entire screen without all the hand movement? G

Last edited by skiwolf9; 01-24-2010 at 09:52 AM.
Reply With Quote top
Old 01-24-2010, 11:28 AM

Stick with your new Wacom Tom.

Touchscreen is great for maneuvering around a screen etc. But your fingers are much to thick to do any kind of retouching except for finger painting.
The tablet might disappear in a decade or so but the pen will always be there.

Chris
Reply With Quote top
Old 01-24-2010, 07:31 PM
Patron