RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Tools > Hardware
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Hardware Computers, displays, tablets, scanners, cameras, printers, etc.

Does Illustrator work easier with a tablet

Old 07-24-2010, 09:27 PM

Does Illustrator work easier with a tablet

Hi there. I am just learning Illustrator CS4. I am mainly going to be using the pen tool as Im tend to do bold design that requires sharp edges. Our tutor advised that drawing in Illustrator is not that great and should be kept for Photoshop and as a result of that with only really using the pen tool, a drawing tablet is a waste of money and that he only used his tablet when using photoshop.

I suffer badly with RSI and wonder whether using a pen tablet would be easier and fast than using a mouse with the pen tool.

Can you experts out there advise me and if I do buy one, Wacom Bamboo fun or will I wish I had the Intuos 4

Advice anyone ?
Thanks. Rachel.
Reply With Quote top
Old 07-25-2010, 12:46 AM

Re: Does Illustrator work easier with a tablet

it took me a while to get used to using a tablet for clipping paths, but now that i have the hang of i can't see myself using a mouse ever again...
Reply With Quote top
Old 07-25-2010, 01:11 AM

The tablet is one of my favorite tools. I know a lot of people say that, but if you work in photoshop or illustrator extensively and competently, then a tablet does significantly speed things up in my experiences.

Most of my work is in photoshop , where using a tablet instead of a mouse for brush work and masking is like night and day) but when I ma doing vector work with paths I still use my tablet and I find that once you get use to using it, it makes working smoother and I can generally move faster. Particularly if you program the the pen buttons as modifier so you can make adjustments to your paths without needing to keep your fingers hovering over the keyboard.